Preparing the Future Generation of Academic Trauma Surgeons

Founded 160 years ago, Denver Health serves as Colorado's largest safety net health institution, an integrated system that is the model for the nation.  The primary purpose of the fellowship is to develop future leaders in the field of Orthopaedic Trauma.  Graduates will possess expertise in the management of all aspects of care for the multiply injured patient, and will be positioned to enter either academic Orthopaedic Traumatology or high volume practices at Lever 1 Trauma Centers.  The fellow will interact with fellowship trained attending physicians in trauma, microvascular surgery, spine, sports medicine and upper extremity.  The fellow will be part of a team that includes residents from the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center program.  There are multiple didactic and hands-on learning experiences for the fellow throughout each week. 


The Denver Health trauma fellowship offers both a well-rounded clinical and basic science curriculum.  During the one year fellowship, the participant is required to finish at least one publishable quality project in either clinical or basic research.  The department has a high-caliber Orthopaedic research team with three full-time staff.  The orthopaedic trauma fellow is expected to spend his/her time in research 1/2 day per week and the other days in the OR.  Clinic coverage occurs when the attending are out of town which may occur around 10 clinic days per year.  Call will be, on average, one weekday per week and every 6th weekend.  The fellow will be on call with an orthopaedic trauma attending.  Each fellow will have four weeks of vacation.  Our department is one of the few AO Foundation training centers allowing us to host several AO International visitors per year which adds an incredible networking experience for our fellows who have the ability to exchange and interact with visiting professors from all over the world.



  • Cyril Mauffrey, MD, FACS, FRCS:  Fellowship Director

  • Joshua Parry, MD:  Director of Education

  • Stephen Stacey, MD:  Co-Fellowship Director, Medical Director-Orthopedic Clinic


Joint Replacement   

  • Dane Iams, MD



  • Kyros Ipaktchi, MD

  • Meryl Livermore, MD

  • Alexander Lauder, MD

  • Stephanie Malliaris, MD



  • Jarrod King, MD

  • Anthony Beardmore, MD

OTA Group_2019_edited.jpg

Want more info?

View a brief description of the program here.

View Case Stats

Click here to view the last 4 years of our trauma fellows case lists.

Want to Apply?

Go to the AO Trauma website to learn how.